Planning Department

As of March 16, 2020, Contra Costa Health Services has ordered a shelter-in-place for all community members within the county. The order became effective at 12:01 a.m. on March 17, 2020 and will continue to be in effect until at least May 31, 2020.

The Orinda Planning Department is open for virtual appointments Monday - Thursday from 12:30 pm to 2:30 pm and Friday from 9:30 am to 11:30 am. You can schedule an appointment here. Additionally, staff members are accessible by email. The Planning Department is also receiving and reviewing plans and applications electronically. Please email questions, applications and plans for review to

The Contra Costa County Building Department, which can be reached at 925-674-7200 will continue to service existing permits, with some exceptions. Please see the Building Department's website for an update on their services.

Green garden with pink flowers.

Welcome to the City of Orinda Planning Department

The City of Orinda Planning Department's Mission Statement - maintain and enhance the semi-rural residential character and the downtown village character of Orinda through responsive and solution oriented services to all segments of the community. We look forward to serving you!

The Planning Department provides professional and personalized service relative to the overall physical development of Orinda, consistent with the:

Responsibilities & Services

The Planning Department is responsible for the implementation of the City's General Plan and Development Code. The Department is also responsible for managing all land use entitlements in accordance with the Subdivision Map Act, California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA), and State Planning and Zoning laws.

Building Permits & Inspections

Building plan check and inspection services are provided through the Contra Costa County Department of Conservation and Development, located at:

Lamorinda Building Inspection Office
3685 Mt. Diablo Boulevard, Suite 120
Lafayette, CA 94549
(925) 299-0263


Monday - Thursday
8 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
12:30 p.m. to 5 p.m.

8 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
12:30 p.m. to 4 p.m.